20th PSQ National Finalists known

Reference Number: 


Release Date: 

Saturday, November 19, 2011

The 17 regional champions who will compete in the 20th PSQ National Finals have been determined after the regional championships held simultaneously last November 17. The National Finals will be held on December 6 at the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas in Manila.

Below is the list of this year's PSQ National Finalists:

Region    Name Course College/University
NCR Neil Jordan Chua Goy B.S. Applied Mathematics Ateneo de Manila University
CAR Brylle Domerson M. Turalba B.S. Medical Laboratory Science St. Louis University
Region I Eidan Cesar dC. Rivera BS Accountancy Mariano Marcos State University(MMSU) - Batac City
Region II Mark Anjo D. Luyun BS Electrical Engineering Cagayan State University
-Carig Campus, Tuguegarao City
Region III Mark Anthony Ros B.S. Electronics & Communications Engineering Holy Angel University
Region IV-A Robert Allan E. Buendia B.S. Electronics Engineering Lyceum of the Philippines - Cavite
Region IV-B Franz Gio M. Mangi B.S. Electronics & Communications Engineering Marinduque State University
Region V Joshua N. Belchez B.S. Electrical Engineering Divine Word College of Legazpi
Region VI Raoul Danniel A. Manuel B.S. Applied Mathematics University of the Philippines
- Miagao, Iloilo
Region VII Jay Lorenz L. Dungog B.S. Applied Physics University of San Carlos
Region VIII Norvim A. Hombre B.S. Information Technology Southern Leyte State University
Bontoc Campus
Region IX Efren A. Medallo B.S. Electronics & Communications Engineering Ateneo de Zamboanga University
Region X Zamina C. Sabenecio B.S. Computer Science Xavier University
Region XI Jessa Lynne S. Canazares                              B.S. Applied Mathematics University of the Philippines
- Mindanao
Region XII Felipe B. Santillan, Jr. B.S. Mechanical Engineering                                      Mindanao State University
- GenSan
ARMM Michelle T. Panganduyon B.S. Mathematics Mindanao State University
- Marawi
Caraga Fredierick S. Remonde B.S. Education Surigao del Sur State University
- Tandag

Accommodation and allowance of all regional champions shall be provided by the PSQ organizers. Roundtrip fare of all contestants and their respective coaches outside National Capital Region shall likewise be provided.

At stake for the top five placers in the 20thPSQ National Finals are specially designed trophies and cash prize while their coaches shall receive an amount equivalent to half of their student's cash prize. The National Champion shall bring home a cash prize of P30,000.

The PSQ is an annual competition which aims to appraise the competency and skills of college freshmen in statistics as acquired from high school. The National Statistics Office and the Philippine Statistical Association organized this noble undertaking in 1992 to advocate public awareness and appreciation of statistics. The Commission on Higher Education began endorsing this national competition in 1994.