No PSGC Updates from January 1 – March 31, 2017

Reference Number: 


Release Date: 

Thursday, April 6, 2017
There were no changes in the geographical-political units of the country during the first quarter of 2017 (1 January 2017 – 31 March 2017), hence, there were no Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) updates during the quarter. Consequently, the total number of regions, provinces, cities, municipalities, and barangays remained the same with the updates as of 31 December 2016.
Per confirmation with the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) and members of the PSA Technical Working Group on Geographic Classification (TWGGC), there was no plebiscite conducted to ratify any proposed changes in the country’s local government units (LGUs) during the period as required by the Local Government Code and no request/certification received from LGUs for the correction of misspelled municipal/barangay names.
The latest number of regions, provinces, cities, municipalities, and barangays in the country is shown below:
Inter-levels As of 31 March 2017 As of 31 December 2016
Region 18 18
Province 81 81
City 145 145
Municipality 1,489 1,489
Barangay 42,036 42,036

The updated PSGC database as of 31 March 2017 as well as its downloadable Excel file can be accessed at 

For further inquiries, please contact Ms. Severa B. de Costo or Mr. Von Jeric F. Adona of the Statistical Classifications Division (SCD) of the Standards Service at telephone numbered (+632) 376-1928, telefax numbered (+632) 376-1867, or at email addresses and