Organizers announce regional bets for the 18th PSQ National Finals

Reference Number: 


Release Date: 

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Regional championships for the 2009 Philippine Statistics Quiz (18th PSQ) were simultaneously held on 12 November all over the country spearheaded by the PSQ Regional Steering Committees with the support of local officials, government agencies and private institutions. First-time freshmen representing various colleges and universities, both public and private, and who are Filipino citizens participated in the contest. 

"The regional champion, who has met the required cut-off cumulative score set forth in the contest mechanics, will be the official representative of the region to the 18th PSQ National Finals which will be held on 04 December at the Social Security System Auditorium in Quezon City." 

The seventeen (17) young statistics whizzes that will be competing in three rounds of questions and answers on statistical theories and problems are as follows:

NCR Michael Van B. Supranes 17 University of the Philippines-Diliman BS Statistics
CAR John Ericson L. Millano 17 St. Louis University BS Electronics and Communication Engineering
I Aldrin N. Soriano 17 Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University - La Union Campus BS Electrical Engineering
II Dianne D. Razalan 16 Nueva Vizcaya State University BS Mathematics
III Gerald F. de Belen 16 Bulacan State University BS Math Major in Applied Statistics
IV-A Roy B. Latayan 16 Batangas State University B.S. General Engineering
IV-B Marc Paulo M. Malco 17 Marinduque State College BS Electronics and Communication Engineering
V Bennyvic Joyce J. Esguerra 17 Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges BS Electronics and Communication Engineering
VI Maja Sefra M. Peralta 16 University of the Philippines-Visayas BS Applied Mathematics
VII Kevin Clyde Y. Chu 17 University of San Carlos BS Computer Science
VIII Mark Jeffrey S. Diaz 16 University of the Philippines - Tacloban BS Computer Science
IX Abdel Aziz A. Alfad 16 Ateneo de Zamboanga University BS Mathematical Sciences
X Gratz Dale Noel G. Redoble 17 Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan BS Electrical Engineering
XI Kriza Fave A. Calumba 17 University of the Philippines-Mindanao BS Food Technology
XII Emelou L. Maning 16 University of Southern Mindanao-Kabacan, Cotabato BS Electronics and Communication Engineering
CARAGA Jesiree L. Serviano 17 Northern Mindanao State Institute of Science and Technology BS Geodetic Engineering
ARMM Reanne Len C. Arlan 16 Mindanao State University-Marawi BS Statistics

Regional champions as well as their respective coaches, except the National Capital Region, shall be provided with roundtrip fares. Modest accommodation and allowances while in Manila shall also be provided to all the 17 contestants and their coaches for the duration of the competition.

Moreover, each regional champion who qualified as national finalist will also be awarded with a PSQ medal and a certificate of recognition. Their respective coaches, the college or university where the regional champions are currently enrolled, as well as the high school where they graduated from will all likewise be given certificates of recognition. These are aside from cash prize, trophies and several gift items from various sponsors and donors at stake for the top five winners in the PSQ national finals.

Last year, sixteen-year-old Roy Christopher K. Ang, a freshman Medical Laboratory Science student from the Saint Louis University-Baguio City bagged the 17th PSQ National Finals. Ang was awarded a cash prize of P25,000.00 and a specially designed trophy, among others. His coach, Nora S. Umalla was also given a certificate of recognition and P12,500.00 cash reward.

The PSQ aims to assess the competency and skills of college freshmen in statistics as acquired from high school. The NSO and the Philippine Statistical Association have been conducting the yearly undertaking since 1992 to promote public awareness and appreciation of statistics. In 1994, the Commission on Higher Education began endorsing the annual competition.