PSGC 4th Quarter 2019 Updates: Compostela Valley is now Davao de Oro

Reference Number: 


Release Date: 

Thursday, January 23, 2020

During the fourth quarter of 2019, the renaming of Compostela Valley into Davao de Oro was ratified through a plebiscite held on 07 December 2019. The province was renamed by virtue of Republic Act No. 11297 – “An Act Renaming the Province of Compostela Valley as the Province of Davao de Oro” approved on 17 April 2019.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort of the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) and its interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC) composed of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Commission of Elections (COMELEC), National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), and the Land Management Bureau (LMB). Pursuant to Republic Act No. 10625, the PSA is mandated to prescribe uniform standards and classification systems in the generation of government statistics to ensure harmonization and comparability of statistics in the country and at the international level.

The updated online PSGC database and downloadable masterlist can be accessed at

For further inquiries, please contact the Statistical Classifications Division (SCD) of the Standards Service at telefax number (+632) 8376-1867 or email at and


National Statistician and Civil Registrar General