Country's statistics whizzes compete for 13th Philippine Statistics Quiz Championship

Reference Number: 2004-084
Release Date: 06 December 2004

Seventeen Regional Champions will put to test their mathematical and analytical prowess as they compete in three rounds of grueling tests on statistical theories and problems for the prestige of becoming the 13th Philippine Statistics Quiz (PSQ) national champion. The event spearheaded by the National Statistics Office (NSO) and the Philippine Statistical Association (PSA) will be held at the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Assembly Hall on December 7.

Prizes at stake include specially designed trophies for the top five national finalists and cash prizes amounting to more than P100,000 for both the winners and their coaches. Medals and gift items compliments of the undertaking's sponsors and donors will also be given.

Congresswoman Cynthia A. Villar of the lone District of Las Piñas and Chairperson of the House Committee on Higher and Technical Education is the keynote speaker in the event's afternoon programme. NSO Administrator Carmelita N. Ericta will deliver the welcome remarks. Also expected to grace the occasion are the heads and official representatives of statistical and other government agencies, sponsors and donors, as well as friends and relatives of the national finalists.

Dr. Mercedes B. Concepcion, an academician from the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST), chairs the three-member Board of Judges for the National Finals. The two other judges are Dr. Romulo A. Virola, Secretary-General of the National Statistical Coordination Board and Director Romeo S. Recide of the Bureau of Agricultural Statistics.

Vying for the top plum are regional winners Wilheim John N. Sy of the National Capital Region; Jan Christian M. Valencia, Cordillera Autonomous Region; Lorna Amsy R. Hailar, Region I; Jayson B. Tacazon, Region II; Marwin T. Pangilinan, Region III; Mark Kervie N.Talatala, CALABARZON; Russel Christian O. Fernandez, MIMAROPA; Jakechris P. Sicad, Region V; Janree Ruark C. Gatpatan, Region VI; Rushyll Mae C. Fuertes, Region VII; Jane Lois E. De Veyra, Region VIII; Christian V. Cainglet, Region IX; Joanne R. Roa, Region X; Apple Grace O. Ubas, Region XI; Adrian E. Quilatan, Region XII; Zakariya T. Muripaga, Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao and Malvin B. Malig-on, Caraga.

Free accommodation for the duration of the national finals in Manila and two-way transportation fare have been provided for the regional champions and their coaches by the PSQ organizers.

The PSQ which started in 1992 aims to instill the value of statistics among students and to elicit awareness on its importance in national development planning and thereby generate support and public cooperation in government statistical activities. In 1994, just two years after its conception, the annual competition already received the endorsement of the Commission on Higher Education. The Quiz organizers take pride of the success stories of its past national champions, half of whom are either already working or studying as scholars abroad. Last year, University of the Philippines – Diliman Statistics Major Elizabeth Anne Juliana M. David took the top prize.

PSQ by Year

25th PSQ Poster

Contact Information

Philippine Statistics Authority
PSA TAM Bldg., East Avenue, Quezon City
Tel. No. 8938-5269

Philippine Statistics Authority
11th Floor, CyberPod Centris 1 Bldg.
EDSA corner Quezon Avenue, Quezon City
Tel. Nos. 8374-8270 / 8374-8264