AdMU student emerges 2005 PSQ national champion

Reference Number: 2005-078
Release Date: 08 December 2005

Sixteen-year-old Monzenn Carlo Y. Mallari of Ateneo de Manila University outshined 16 other hopefuls from various regions in the country to bring home the national championship trophy in the 14th Philippine Statistics Quiz (PSQ) held on December 6, 2005 at the Assembly Hall of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas in Malate, Manila. The PSQ is a nationwide search for young statistics whizzes that began in 1992 spearheaded by the National Statistics Office and the Philippine Statistical Association

Mallari was awarded PhP25,000, a PSQ medal, and a specially designed trophy. His coach, Ramil T. Bataller, was also given a special recognition and a cash prize of PhP12,500.

Other winners include Rommel R. Real of Region 11, first runner-up; Gay Lorainne C. Cordova of Region 7, second runner-up; Patrick Vincent G. Aquino of Region 10, third runner-up; and Mark Alvin C. Bayag of Region 6, fourth runner-up. All five national winners and their coaches shared a cash pot of over a hundred thousand pesos, among other prizes.

Secretary-General Romulo A. Virola of the National Statistical Coordination Board, chaired the Board of Judges. Director Romeo S. Recide of the Bureau of Agricultural Statistics and concurrent Assistant Secretary for Policy and Planning, Department of Agriculture and Dr. Arturo Y. Pacificador, Jr., statistical consultant, served as members. Prior to the Quiz proper, Jocelyn Que,1st PSQ Champion delivered an inspirational message. Que is now connected with Intel Technology Phils., Inc. as a Senior Supervisor.

Other regional champions who joined the contest were Joemylou A. Tattao of the Cordillera Administrative Region; Homil C. De Vera of Region 1; Jonathan A. Jallorina of Region 2; Romeo Nikko Q. Pabustan of Region 3; Christine Lorraine J. Mendez of CALABARZON; Mary Grace J. Vergino of MIMAROPA; Romeo B. Pimentel, Jr. of Region 5; Glaiza Mae M. Seno of Region 8; Eliezer E. Estrecho of Region 9; Melvin John H. Banzuelo of Region 12, Ranielyn M. Sajelan of Caraga; and Xian P. Cabatchete of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

All national finalists were awarded plaque of recognition and PSQ medals. The colleges/universities where they are currently enrolled as well as the high schools where they graduated were also given certificates of appreciation.

Major sponsors for this year's PSQ include Unisys Corporation, APO Production Unit, Inc., Pilipinas Teleserv, Inc., Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation, Census Employees Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Bureau of Labor and Employment Statistics, Chinabank, National Statistical Coordination Board, Census Provident Fund, UP Statistical Research Foundation, Inc., National Economic and Development Authority, Achiever Security Agency of the Philippines, Statistical Research and Training Center, and Bureau of Agricultural Statistics.

PSQ by Year

25th PSQ Poster

Contact Information

Philippine Statistics Authority
PSA TAM Bldg., East Avenue, Quezon City
Tel. No. 8938-5269

Philippine Statistics Authority
11th Floor, CyberPod Centris 1 Bldg.
EDSA corner Quezon Avenue, Quezon City
Tel. Nos. 8374-8270 / 8374-8264