

PRESS RELEASE

Highlights on the Population of Legislative Districts in the Philippines based on the 2020 Census of Population and Housing (2020 CPH)

Date of Release: 29 October 2021

Reference No. 2021-443

First Legislative District of Rizal is the country's most populous

Section 5 (3) Article VI of the 1987 Philippine Constitution stipulates that each province (regardless of population size) and each city, with a population of at least 250,000 persons, should have at least one Representative in the Congress. As of 31 August 2021, the Philippines had a total of 253 legislative districts (LDs).

Among all the legislative districts, the First LD of Rizal was the biggest in terms of population size, with 1.21 million persons based on the 2020 Census of Population and Housing (2020 CPH). It was followed by the First LD of the City of Caloocan in the National Capital Region (NCR) with 952 thousand persons, and the First LD of Maguindanao with 926 thousand persons. The rest of the ten most populous LDs had a population of more than 750,000 persons. (Tables A and 1)

Moreover, 58 other LDs posted a population of more than 500,000 persons. (Table 1)

TABLE A. Top Ten Most Populous Legislative Districts: 2020

Rank	Legislative District	Province or City	Population
1	First Legislative District	Rizal	1,207,509
2	First Legislative District	City of Caloocan, NCR	952,125
3	First Legislative District	Maguindanao	926,037
4	First Legislative District	Pampanga	880,360
5	First Legislative District	Cebu	809,335
6	Lone Legislative District	City of Pasig, NCR	803,159
7	Third Legislative District	Pampanga	782,547
8	Third Legislative District	Batangas	768,561
9	First Legislative District	Bulacan	758,872
10	Second Legislative District	Quezon	753,343

Sources: Philippine Statistics Authority, 2020 Census of Population and Housing Commission on Elections, List of Cities/Municipalities by Legislative District and List of Barangays by Legislative/Councilor District for the 09 May 2022 National and Local Elections (as of 31 August 2021)

www.psa.gov.ph



Lone LD of Batanes is the least populous LD

The Lone LD of the island province of Batanes was the least populous with 18,831 persons, followed by the Lone LD of two other island-provinces – Camiguin with 92,808 persons and Siquijor with 103,395 persons. Except for the Lone LD of the City of San Juan in NCR, First LD of Surigao del Norte, First LD of the City of Marikina in NCR, and First LD of Masbate, the rest of the ten least populous LDs are small provinces composed of only one LD – the landlocked provinces of Apayao and Mountain Province and the island province of Dinagat Islands. (Tables B and 1)

TABLE B. Ten Least Populous Legislative Districts: 2020

Rank	Legislative District	Province or City	Population
1	Lone Legislative District	Batanes	18,831
2	Lone Legislative District	Camiguin	92,808
3	Lone Legislative District	Siquijor	103,395
4	Lone Legislative District	Apayao	124,366
5	Lone Legislative District	City of San Juan, NCR	126,347
6	Lone Legislative District	Dinagat Islands	128,117
7	First Legislative District	Surigao del Norte	136,092
8	Lone Legislative District	Mountain Province	158,200
9	First Legislative District	City of Marikina, NCR	174,892
10	First Legislative District	Masbate	177,651

Sources: Philippine Statistics Authority, 2020 Census of Population and Housing Commission on Elections, List of Cities/Municipalities by Legislative District and List of Barangays by Legislative/Councilor District for the 09 May 2022 National and Local Elections (as of 31 August 2021)