

PRESS RELEASE

Second Quarter 2022 PSGC Updates: Correction of the Names of One Municipality and 26 Barangays

Date of Release: 28 July 2022

Reference No. 2022-311

During the second quarter of 2022, the names of one municipality and 26 barangays in the Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) masterlist were corrected based on the recommendations of the interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC) as follows:

Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
Municipality of Sto. Tomas , Pampanga	Santo Tomas	 Executive Order No. 476 Series of 1951 Municipal Ordinance No. 66 Series of 2021
Barangay Pinggan , Municipality of Gasan, Marinduque	Pingan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor
3. Barangay Kinyaman , Municipality of Santa Cruz, Marinduque	Kiñaman	Office of the MDPC's Certification signed through the Authority of Municipal Mayor dated 06 April 2022
Barangay Lumangbayan , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Lumang Bayan	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022
5. Barangay Puting Tubig , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Putingtubig	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022
6. Barangay Sta. Cruz , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022

Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
7. Barangay Sta. Isabel , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Isabel	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022
8. Barangay Sta. Maria Village , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Maria Village	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022
9. Barangay Sto. Niño , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Santo Niño	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022
10. Barangay Sta. Rita , City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Rita	Certification signed by City Mayor dated 08 April 2022
11. Barangay Delrazon , Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro	Del Razon	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 March 2022
12. Barangay Lumambayan , Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro	Lumangbayan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 March 2022
13. Barangay Sta. Isabel , Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Isabel	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 March 2022
14. Barangay Sta. Maria , Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Maria	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 March 2022
15. Barangay Sta. Rita , Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro	Santa Rita	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 March 2022
16. Barangay Sto. Niño , Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro	Santo Niño	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 March 2022
17. Barangay Binonga-an , Municipality of San Agustin, Romblon	Binongahan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 07 April 2022
18. Barangay Cagbo-aya , Municipality of San Agustin, Romblon	Cagbuaya	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 07 April 2022
19. Barangay Hinugusan , Municipality of San Agustin, Romblon	Binugusan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 07 April 2022

Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
20. Barangay Camandag , Municipality of Looc, Romblon	Camandao	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 April 2022
21. Barangay Manaquem , Municipality of Camiling, Tarlac	Manakem	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 21 March 2022
22. Barangay Sta. Maria , Municipality of Camiling, Tarlac	Santa Maria	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 21 March 2022
23. Barangay Palimbo Caarosipan , Municipality of Camiling, Tarlac	Palimbo- Caarosipan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 21 March 2022
24. Barangay Banaag ng Pag-asa , Municipality of Lubang, Occidental Mindoro	Banaag At Pag-Asa	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 08 April 2022
25. Barangay Sorville , Municipality of Lubang, Occidental Mindoro	Surville	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 08 April 2022
26. Barangay Almeida , Municipality of Balaoan, La Union	Almieda	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 June 2022
27. Barangay Comod-om , Municipality of Alcantara, Romblon	Camod-Om	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 02 December 2021

Notwithstanding these updates in the PSGC, the total number of local government units remained the same as shown in the table below:

Geographic-level	Total Number (as of 30 June 2022)
Region	17
Province	81
City	146
Municipality	1,488
Barangay	42,046

The updated online PSGC database and masterlist can be accessed at https://psa.gov.ph/classification/psgc/.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort of the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA), and its interagency TWGGC composed of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Commission on Elections (COMELEC), National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), and the Land Management Bureau (LMB).

For further inquiries, you may contact the **Statistical Classifications Division** of the **Standards Service** with telefax number (+632) 8376-1867 and email addresses **em.aquino@psa.gov.ph** and **v.adona@psa.gov.ph**.

DENNIS S. MAPA, Ph.D.

Undersecretary
National Statistician and Civil Registrar General

MEPE/SBDC/EMA/VJFA