

Republic of the Philippines
<u>PHILIPPINE STATISTICS AUTHORITY</u>



PRESS RELEASE

First Quarter 2024 PSGC Updates: Three New Barangays, Transferring of One Barangay, and Correction of the Names of 20 Barangays

Date of Release: 23 April 2024 Reference No. 2024-113

The Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) included in the First Quarter 2024 Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) the creation of Barangay Sultan Corobong, Barangay Sultan Panoroganan, and Barangay Angoyao in City of Marawi, Lanao del Sur. The three newly created barangays were ratified through a plebiscite conducted simultaneously on 09 March 2024, pursuant to City Ordinances Nos. 18-11, 19-11, and 20-11, s. 2023 of City of Marawi, respectively.

Moreover, the transfer of Barangay Guintolan from Municipality of Payao to Municipality of Imelda in the province of Zamboanga Sibugay, pursuant to Supreme Court Decision on 28 June 2021, was likewise reflected in the First Quarter of 2024 PSGC.

Furthermore, the names of 20 barangays in the PSGC masterlist were corrected based on the verification of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) and recommendation of the interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC). The details of the updates are as follows:

Correct Name	Old Name	Legal Basis
1. Barangay Hibunawan,	Hibonawan	Certification signed by
Municipality of		Municipal Mayor dated
Burauen, Leyte		21 November 2023
2. Barangay Gitabla,	Gitablan	Certification signed by
Municipality of		Municipal Mayor dated
Burauen, Leyte		21 November 2023



Correct Name	Old Name	Legal Basis
 Barangay Digahungan, Municipality of Dagami, Leyte 	Digahongan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 14 December 2023
 Barangay Hitomnog, Municipality of Dagami, Leyte 	Hitumnog	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 14 December 2023
 Barangay Lapu-Lapu, Municipality of Dagami, Leyte 	Lapu-lapu Pob.	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 14 December 2023
 Barangay Lobe-Lobe, Municipality of Dagami, Leyte 	Lobe-lobe	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 14 December 2023
 Barangay Lobe-Lobe East, Municipality of Dagami, Leyte 	Lobe-lobe East	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 14 December 2023
 Barangay Sto. Domingo, Municipality of Dagami, Leyte 	Santo Domingo	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 14 December 2023
 Barangay Casulongan, Municipality of Javier, Leyte 	Casalungan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 21 November 2023
10. Barangay Sta. Cruz , Municipality of Julita, Leyte	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 22 November 2023
11. Barangay Sto. Niño , Municipality of Julita, Leyte	Santo Niño	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 22 November 2023
12. Barangay Gimiranat East , Municipality of La Paz, Leyte	Gimenarat East	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 28 November 2023
13. Barangay Gimiranat West , Municipality of La Paz, Leyte	Gimenarat West	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 28 November 2023
14. Barangay Palanogan , Municipality of Mahaplag, Leyte	Palañogan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 28 November 2023
15. Barangay Sta. Cruz , Municipality of Mahaplag, Leyte	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 28 November 2023

Correct Name	Old Name	Legal Basis
16. Barangay Sto. Niño,	Santo Niño	Certification signed by
Municipality of		Municipal Mayor dated
Mahaplag, Leyte		28 November 2023
17. Barangay	Mercadohay	Certification signed by
Mercaduhay,		Municipal Mayor dated
Municipality of		22 November 2023
Tabontabon, Leyte		
18. Barangay Guingauan,	Guingawan	Certification signed by
Municipality of		Municipal Mayor dated
Tabontabon, Leyte		22 November 2023
19. Barangay Apurawan,	Aporawan	Certification signed by
Municipality of Aborlan,		Municipal Mayor dated
Palawan		21 November 2023
20. Barangay	Apo-Aporawan	Certification signed by
Apoaporawan,	-	Municipal Mayor dated
Municipality of Aborlan,		21 November 2023
Palawan		

With all the above updates in the PSGC as of the first quarter of 2024, the latest number of local government units is shown in the table below:

Geographic Level	Total Number (as of 31 March 2024)
Region	17
Province	82
Highly Urbanized City (HUC)	33
Other Cities	116
 Independent 	5
Component City (ICC)	
 Component City (CC) 	111
Municipality	1,485
Barangay	42,004

The PSGC is being maintained by the PSA. The updated online PSGC database and masterlist can be accessed at https://psa.gov.ph/classification/psgc/.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort of the PSA and its interagency TWGGC composed of the Commission on

Elections (COMELEC), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Budget and Management (DBM), National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP), Land Management Bureau (LMB), and the Land Registration Authority (LRA).

For further inquiries, you may contact the **Statistical Classifications Division** of the **Standards Service** at **scd.staff@psa.gov.ph**.

CLAIRE DENNIS S. MAPA, PhD Undersecretary National Statistician and Civil Registrar General

MEPE/RJSE