

PRESS RELEASE

Fourth Quarter 2022 PSGC Updates: Conversion to a New City, Merging of 28 Barangays, Renaming of a Barangay, and Correction of the Names of 19 Barangays

Date of Release: 23 January 2023

Reference No. 2023-29

During the fourth quarter of 2022, the conversion of the Municipality of Baliuag in the province of Bulacan into **City of Baliwag** by the virtue of Republic Act No. 11929 was ratified through a plebiscite conducted on 17 December 2022.

Moreover, the merging of 28 barangays into three barangays and renaming of a barangay in Ormoc City, pursuant to Sangguniang Panlungsod Ordinance No. 052 Series of 2021, were ratified through plebiscites conducted simultaneously on 08 October 2022. The details of the updates are as follows:

Barangay Name	Mother Unit/Old name	Type of Changes
1. Barangay South	Barangays 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 15, 17, 23, and 27	Merging of barangays
2. Barangay East	Barangays 9, 10, 11, 16, 18, 25, and 28	Merging of barangays
3. Barangay West	Barangays 14, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, and 26	Merging of barangays
4. Barangay North	Barangay 29	Renaming of barangay

Furthermore, the names of 19 barangays in the Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) masterlist were corrected based on the recommendations of the interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC) as follows:

	Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
١	Barangay Dipili , Junicipality of Bayog, Zamboanga del Sur	Depili	Certification dated 09 November 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
١	Barangay Maño , Municipality of San Remigio, Cebu	Mano	Certification dated 17 November 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
F	Barangay Dacalla- Fugu, Municipality of Camalaniugan, Cagayan	Dacal-Lafugu	Certification dated 02 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
N C	Barangay Tulutuging , Municipality of Camalaniugan, Cagayan	Tuluttuging	Certification dated 02 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
١	Barangay Liuan , Municipality of Rizal, Cagayan	Liwan	Certification dated 29 November 2022 signed by Acting Municipal Mayor
١	Barangay Capaccuan , Municipality of Rizal, Cagayan	Capacuan	Certification dated 29 November 2022 signed by Acting Municipal Mayor
١	Barangay Linno-C , Municipality of Rizal, Cagayan	Linno	Certification dated 29 November 2022 signed by Acting Municipal Mayor
Λ	Barangay Dungan , Municipality of Rizal, Cagayan	Dunggan	Certification dated 29 November 2022 signed by Acting Municipal Mayor
١	Barangay Villalaida , Municipality of Tuao, Cagayan	Villa Laida	Certification dated 12 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor

Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
10. Barangay Sto. Tomas , Municipality of Tuao, Cagayan	Santo Tomas	Certification dated 12 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
11. Barangay Sto. Tomas , Municipality of Claveria, Cagayan	Santo Tomas	Certification dated 12 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
12. Barangay Sta. Maria , Municipality of Claveria, Cagayan	Santa Maria	Certification dated 12 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
13. Barangay Sto. Niño , Municipality of Claveria, Cagayan	Santo Niño	Certification dated 12 December 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
14. Barangay San Lorenzo , Municipality of Buguey, Cagayan	Alucao Weste	Sangguniang Bayan Resolution No. 017 Series of 1991 dated 18 February 1991
15. Barangay Bacarreña , Municipality of San Mateo, Isabela	Bacareña	Certification dated 24 October 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
16. Barangay Simimbaan , Municipality of Cuyapo, Nueva Ecija	Sinimbaan	Certification dated 14 November 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
17. Barangay Nagcuralan , Municipality of Cuyapo, Nueva Ecija	Nacuralan	Certification dated 14 November 2022 signed by Municipal Mayor
18. Barangay Camiing , Municipality of Guimba, Nueva Ecija	Camiling	Certification* signed by Municipal Mayor
19. Barangay Sto. Cristo , Municipality of San Isidro, Nueva Ecija	Santo Cristo	Certification* signed by Municipal Mayor

^{* -} no dates specified in the Certification

With these updates in the PSGC, the latest number of local government units is shown in the table below:

Geographic-level	Total Number (as of 31 December 2022)
Region	17
Province	82
City	148
Municipality	1,486
Barangay	42,022

The updated online PSGC database and masterlist can be accessed at https://psa.gov.ph/classification/psgc/.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort of the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA), and its interagency TWGGC composed of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Commission on Elections (COMELEC), National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), and the Land Management Bureau (LMB).

For further inquiries, you may contact the **Statistical Classifications Division** of the **Standards Service** with telefax number

(02) 8376-1867 and email address **scd.staff@psa.gov.ph**.

DENNIS S. MAPA, Ph.D.

Undersecretary National Statistician and Civil Registrar General

MEPE/EMA/VJFA