



## PRESS RELEASE

Third Quarter 2024 PSGC Updates: Creation of Two Barangays, Division of One Barangay into Six Independent Barangays, and Correction of the Names of Four Barangays

Date of Release: 18 October 2024

Reference No. 2024-317

During the third quarter of 2024, the creation of **Barangay Juan-Loreto Tamayo** in the Municipality of Tupi, South Cotabato, was officially approved through Sangguniang Panlalawigan Resolution No. 158, Series of 2023, and ratified by a plebiscite on 13 July 2024. Similarly, **Barangay Guinhalinan** in the Municipality of Barobo, Surigao del Sur, was created under Republic Act No. 11986, dated 21 March 2024, and ratified by a plebiscite on 10 August 2024.

Moreover, pursuant to Republic Act No. 11993, dated 03 April 2024, Barangay 176 in City of Caloocan, was divided into six separate and independent barangays, namely: Barangay 176-A, Barangay 176-B, Barangay 176-C, Barangay 176-D, Barangay 176-E, and Barangay 176-F. The division was ratified through a plebiscite conducted on 31 August 2024.

Furthermore, the names of four barangays in the Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) masterlist have been corrected based on the recommendation of the Interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC). The details of updates are as follows:

Correct Name		Old Name	Legal Basis
1.	Barangay <b>Sto. Niño</b> , Municipality of Carmen, Davao del Norte	Santo Niño	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 17 September 2024
2.	Barangay <b>Sta. Cruz</b> , Municipality of New Corella, Davao del Norte	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 25 September 2024
3.	Barangay <b>Sta. Fe</b> , Municipality of New Corella, Davao del Norte	Santa Fe	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 25 September 2024
4.	Barangay <b>Sto. Niño</b> , Municipality of New Corella, Davao del Norte	Santo Niño	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 25 September 2024

Lastly, the interagency TWGGC recommended maintaining the status quo regarding the inclusion of the Province of Sulu in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), pending the final decision of the Supreme Court.

With all the aforementioned updates in the PSGC, the latest number of local government units is shown in the table below:

Geographic Level	Total Number (as of 30 September 2024)	
Region	18	
Province	82	
Highly Urbanized City (HUC)	33	
Other Cities  Independent Component City (ICC)  Component City (CC)	116 5 111	
Municipality (GC)	1,493	
Barangay	42,011	

You can access and download the updated masterlist at https://psa.gov.ph/classification/psgc/.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort between the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) and its interagency TWGGC, which includes the Commission on Elections (COMELEC), Department of Budget and Management (DBM), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Land Management Bureau (LMB), Land Registration Authority (LRA), National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP), and the National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA).

For further inquiries, you may contact the **Statistical Classifications Division** of the **Standards Service** with telephone number (+632) 8376-1867 and email address scd.staff@psa.gov.ph.

Mualina 1. Janh

CLAIRE DENNIS S. MAPA, PhD

Undersecretary National Statistician and Civil Registrar General

MEPE/EMA