



PRESS RELEASE

Third Quarter 2023 PSGC Updates:
Conversion to a New City, Merging of 44 Barangays, Renaming of
Five Barangays, Transferring of 10 Barangays, and Correction of
the Names of 12 Barangays

Date of Release: 20 October 2023

Reference No. 2023-329

In accordance with the Supreme Court decision in General Register (G.R.) No. 235316 (Municipality of Makati [now City of Makati] v. Municipality of Taguig [now City of Taguig]) issued on 01 December 2021, regarding the land dispute between the city governments of Taguig and Makati over the Fort Bonifacio Military Reservation, the 10 barangays listed below are now transferred from City of Makati to City of Taguig. The change was adopted in the 3rd Quarter 2023 Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) being maintained by the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA). The 10 barangays that were previously part of the City of Makati now adopt the geographic code for City of Taguig.

No.	Barangay Name
1.	Cembo
2.	Comembo
3.	East Rembo
4.	Pembo
5.	Pitogo
6.	Post Proper Northside
7.	Post Proper Southside
8.	Rizal
9.	South Cembo
10.	West Rembo

Further, the conversion of the municipality of Carmona in the province of Cavite into **City of Carmona** by virtue of Republic Act No. 11938 was ratified through a plebiscite conducted on 08 July 2023. Despite this change, the geographic code of the City of Carmona remains the same.



Moreover, the merging of 44 barangays into 18 barangays, and renaming of five barangays in the City of Bacoor in the province of Cavite, pursuant to City Ordinance No. 275-2023 dated 28 March 2023, were ratified through plebiscites conducted simultaneously on 29 July 2023. Additionally, the names of 12 barangays in the PSGC masterlist were corrected based on the recommendation of the interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC). The details of the updates are as follows:

A. Renaming of Barangays in the City of Bacoor, Cavite

Barangay Name	Old name
1. Barangay Ligas 2	Ligas III
2. Barangay P.F. Espiritu 3	P.F. Espiritu IV
3. Barangay P.F. Espiritu 5	P.F. Espiritu VII
4. Barangay P.F. Espiritu 6	P.F. Espiritu VIII
5. Barangay Zapote 3	Zapote V

B. Merging of Barangays in the City of Bacoor, Cavite

	Barangay Name	Mother Units
1.	Barangay Aniban 1	Barangays
		Aniban I, III, and V
2.	Barangay Aniban 2	Barangays Aniban II, and IV
3.	Barangay Kaingin Digman	Barangays Kaingin, and Digman
4.	Barangay Ligas 1	Barangays
		Ligas I, and II
5.	Barangay Mabolo	Barangays
		Mabolo I, II, and III
6.	Barangay Maliksi 2	Barangays
		Maliksi II, and III
7.	Barangay Mambog 2	Barangays
		Mambog II, and V
8.	Barangay Niog	Barangays
		Niog I, II, and III

Barangay Name	Mother Units
9. Barangay P.F. Espiritu 2	Barangays
	P.F. Espiritu II, and III
10. Barangay P.F. Espiritu 4	Barangays
	P.F. Espiritu V, and VI
11. Barangay Poblacion	Barangays Tabing Dagat,
	Campo Santo, and Daang Bukid
12. Barangay Real	Barangays
	Real I, and II
13. Barangay Salinas 2	Barangays
	Salinas II, III, and IV
14. Barangay Sinbanali	Barangays Sineguelasan,
	Banalo, and Alima
15. Barangay Talaba 1	Barangays
	Talaba I, III, and VII
16. Barangay Talaba 3	Barangays
	Talaba IV, V, and VI
17. Barangay Zapote 1	Barangays
	Zapote I, and II
18. Barangay Zapote 2	Barangays
	Zapote III, and IV

C. Correction of Spelling of Barangay Names

	Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
1.	Barangay Sta. Cruz , Municipality of Lezo, Aklan	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 17 May 2023
2.	Barangay Sta. Cruz Biga-a , Municipality of Lezo, Aklan	Santa Cruz Bigaa	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 17 May 2023
3.	Barangay Silakat Nonok , Municipality of Lezo, Aklan	Silakat-Nonok	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 17 May 2023

Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
4. Barangay	Laguinbanua	Certification signed by
Laguinbanwa,		Municipal Mayor dated
Municipality of Ibajay,		11 May 2023
Aklan		
5. Barangay Sta. Cruz ,	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by
Municipality of Ibajay,		Municipal Mayor dated
Aklan		11 May 2023
6. Barangay Dalagsaan ,	Dalagsa-an	Certification signed by
Municipality of Libacao,		Municipal Mayor dated
Aklan		01 June 2023
7. Barangay Can-awan,	Can-Awan	Certification signed by
Municipality of Libacao,		Municipal Mayor dated
Aklan		01 June 2023
8. Barangay Cubcubbuot,	Cubcubboot	Certification signed by
Municipality of City of		City Mayor dated
Candon, Ilocos Sur		25 August 2023
9. Barangay Uauang	Uauang-Tuliao	Certification signed by
Tuliao, Municipality of		Municipal Mayor dated
Santo Tomas, Isabela		14 June 2023
10. Barangay Uauang	Uauang-	Certification signed by
Galicia, Municipality of	Galicia	Municipal Mayor dated
Santo Tomas, Isabela		14 June 2023
11. Barangay Sta.	Santa	Certification signed by
Filomena, Municipality	Filomina	Municipal Mayor dated
of San Mariano, Isabela		19 June 2023
12. Barangay Pooc ,	Pook	Certification signed by
Municipality of City of		City Mayor dated
Santa Rosa, Laguna		20 March 2023

Notwithstanding these updates, the barangay codes remain the same except those for the new 18 barangays in the City of Bacoor that resulted from the merging, which assume the next available barangay codes in the city.

With all the above updates in the PSGC as of the third quarter of 2023, the latest number of local government units is shown in the table below:

Geographic-level	Total Number (as of 30 September 2023)
Region	17
Province	82
City	149
Municipality	1,485
Barangay	42,001

The updated online PSGC database and masterlist can be accessed at https://psa.gov.ph/classification/psgc/.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort of the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) and its interagency TWGGC composed of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Commission on Elections (COMELEC), National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), and the Land Management Bureau (LMB).

For further inquiries, you may contact the **Statistical Classifications Division** of the **Standards Service** with telefax number **(02) 8376-1867** and email address **scd.staff@psa.gov.ph**.

CLAIRE DENNIS S. MAPA, PhD

Undersecretary National Statistician and Civil Registrar General

MEPE/EMA