No PSGC Updates from April 01 to June 30, 2017

Reference Number: 


Release Date: 

Friday, July 14, 2017
There were no changes in the geographical-political units of the country during the second quarter of 2017 (01 April 2017 – 30 June 2017), hence, there were no submitted updates on the Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) during the quarter. Consequently, the total number of regions, provinces, cities, municipalities, and barangays remained the same with the PSGC updates as of 31 March 2017.
Per confirmation with the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) and members of the PSA Technical Working Group on Geographic Classification (TWGGC), there was no plebiscite conducted to ratify any proposed changes in the country’s local government units (LGUs) during the period as required by the Local Government Code and no request/certification received from LGUs for the correction of misspelled municipal/barangay names.
The latest number of regions, provinces, cities, municipalities, and barangays in the country is shown below:
Inter-levels As of 30 June 2017 As of 31 March 2017
Region 18 18
Province 81 81
City 145 145
Municipality 1,489 1,489
Barangay 42,036 42,036


The updated PSGC database as of 30 June 2017 as well as its downloadable Excel file can be accessed at 
For further inquiries, please contact Ms. Severa B. de Costo or Mr. Von Jeric F. Adona of the Statistical Classifications Division (SCD) of the Standards Service at telephone numbered (+632) 376-1928, telefax numbered (+632) 376-1867, or at email addresses and